THE UNITED KINGDOM

Great Britain is a big island consisting of 3 countries: England, Scotland and Wales. These three countries together with Northern Ireland form the **United Kingdom**. **London** is the capital of UK and English is the official language. London is also the capital of England. **Edinburgh** is the capital of Scotland. **Cardiff** is the capital of Wales. **Belfast** is the capital of Northern Ireland.

The British flag is called the **Union jack**. There are three flags in one. They are the flag of England, the cross of Saint George, red and white, the flag of Scotland, the cross of St Andrew, blue and white, the flag of Northern Ireland, the cross of St Patrick, red and white. They are placed one on top of each other. There isn't the Welsh flag represented by a red dragon.

The rose is the national symbol of England.

The thistle (cardo) is the national symbol of Scotland. It's a purple flower.

The daffodil (giunchiglia) is the national symbol of Wales. It's a yellow flower.

The shamrock (trifoglio) ist the national symbol of Northern Ireland

WHO ARE THE BRITISH?

The population of Britain is over 60 million. 92% of people in the UK are white, but Britain is a multicultural country. 8% are from different countries.

About 3% of the population is Asian, from In India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Many Asians live in big cities like London, Manchester, Leeds and Birmingham. Black people in Britain are usually from Africa or the Caribbean. About 2% of the population is black. Almost 5% of children under 5 are mixed race.